Youth Commission Logo

The SDC Youth Commission is committed to coming alongside Southern District churches as they minister to teenagers. Our mission and mandate from the Southern District Conference is to see young people experience a genuine faith in Jesus Christ through resourcing local church youth programs with summer camp experiences, annual high school and junior high youth conferences, and additional support. The annual SDYC, Southern District Youth Conference, is one of the largest gatherings of any multi-church Mennonite Brethren group in the United States, bringing together youth and adult youth workers for inspiration and faith development. Russ Claassen serves as the District Youth Minister (DYM). Russ’ task as DYM is to coordinate the ministries of Youth Commission and help build relationships among the district youth pastors and leaders.

Current Youth Commission Members:

  • Dustin Mulkey, Chair, Hays, KS (North Oak Community Church)
  • Anna Clausen, Secretary, Wichita, KS (Lighthouse Community Church)
  • Derrick Austin, Edmond, OK (Cross Timbers Church)
  • Michael Klaassen, Hillsboro, KS (Parkview MB Church)
  • Kevin Larson, Hillsboro, KS (Tabor College)
  • Jared Menard, Hesston, KS (Hesston MB Church)
  • Colton Olsen, Hillsboro, KS (Ebenfeld MB Church)
  • Russ Claassen, Ex-officio, District Youth Minister, Newton, KS (Koerner Heights Church)
  • Lisa Decker, Ex-officio, Treasurer, Hesston, KS (Hesston MB Church)

Contact Youth Commission at  Contact Russ at Contact Youth Treasurer at

If you want to follow us on Social Media click the icons below: